Jubail - 013 363 7584   |   Khobar - 013 867 7141 Stay Connected:

NEBOSH International General Certificate (IGC)

COURSE Introduction

The International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety (IGC) was launched in 2006 and is recognized around the world. There are now over 84,000 people worldwide who have passed this qualification.

NEBOSH has now published a revamped and new syllabus for Nebosh IGC. The IGC has now two unit assessments and the learners must achieve a ‘Pass’ in each unit in order to be awarded the qualification. Learners will have five years to complete their qualification. The five-year period starts from the date that they passed their first successful unit (we call this the ‘declaration date’). Any unit that is five or more years old will not count towards the qualification; the Learner will need to retake this/these unit(s) if they still want to complete the qualification.


Unit prefixes and title/s: Unit IG1: Management of health and safety
Unit IG2: Risk assessment
Unit IG1:
Unit IG2:
Assessment Type
Question paper
Practical assessment
Assessment Time
2 hours
3 hours
Modes of study: A full-time block release course (minimum of two weeks, ten working days including question paper hours)
Part-time day release (spread over at least ten weeks)
Qualification level and number of credits: Notional SCQF Level 6 with 11 credits
(Equivalent to RQF Level 3)
Entry requirements: None
Recommended minimum standards of English: Equivalent to an International English Language Testing System score of 6.0 or higher in IELTS tests
Languages available: English
Pass standards: Unit IG1: 45 marks
Unit IG2: The minimum standard required for a Unit IG2 ‘Pass’ can be found on page 8 of the IG2 Guidance for Learning Partners and Learners
A ‘Pass’ must be achieved in both units to achieve the International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety
Qualification grades: The qualification grade is based on the result from Unit IG1
Distinction: 75 marks or higher
Credit: 65 – 74 marks
Pass: 45 – 64 marks